#293 Alex Shapiro

Alex Shapiro is an accomplished composer who has created an impressive body of works in a wide arrange of styles while always staying true to her own personal vision. She is also a mentor to other composers and a tireless champion of new music. We talk with her and feature a small sample of her wonderful music.


Piano Suite No. 1 “The Resonance of Childhood” mvmt III Quiet Child
– Adam Marks – piano

Perpetual Spark
– Fifth House Ensemble

Kettle Brew (co-composed with David Jarvis)
– David Jarvis – timpani

Immersion mvmt I Beneath
– Fox Valley Orchestra, Steven Squires – conductor

– LA Flute Quartet

At the Abyss mvmt I Observe
– Teresa McCollough – piano, Peggy Benkeser and Thomas Burritt – percussion

Leave a Reply