#119 Haunted Landscapes: Music of George Crumb

Legendary composer George Crumb created a unique, haunting sound world that leaves an indelible impression upon anyone who hears it. The master turns 85 in October and we’ll celebrate with an entire show dedicated to his music.

Hosted by Seth Boustead
Produced by Jesse McQuarters

George Crumb: Vox Balanae, I (excerpt) & finale
eighth blackbird
Cedille 76
3:33, 5:33

Crumb: “Se ha llenado de luces mi corazón de seda” from Ancient Voices of Children
The Contemporary Chamber Ensemble/Arthur Weisberg; Jan DeGaetani, ms.; Michael Dash, boy soprano
Nonesuch 79149

Crumb: Nocturnal Sounds (The Awakening) fr. Makrokosmos III
Gilbert Kalish &James Freeman, pianos; Raymond Des Roches & Richard Fitz, percussion
Nonesuch 79149

Crumb: “Deep River” fr. The River of Life
Orchestra 2001/James Freeman; Ann Crumb, voc.
Bridge 9218

Crumb: Tammy, Fritzi and Yoda fr. Mundis Canis
David Starobin, guitar; Crumb, perc.
Bridge 9095

Crumb: Black Angels, III. Return
Kronos Quartet
Nonesuch 79242

Leave a Reply