#167 A Decade of New Music Chicago

Formed as an unprecedented umbrella organization comprised of all of the groups in the city performing contemporary music, New Music Chicago is a model of large-scale, inter-organizational cooperation.  We’ll feature audio from their ten-year anniversary concert.

Hosted by Seth Boustead
Produced by Jesse McQuarters

JacobTV: Close Fight (excerpt)
Stephen Burns, trumpet, Andy Baker, trombone (Fulcrum Point)

Timothy Ernest Johnson: Fantasy in 3G
James Baur, Jesse Langen, T. E. Johnson, guitars (Chicago Composers’ Consortium)

Augusta Read Thomas: Incantation
Andrew Williams, violin

Max Grafe: Mars One
Amanda DeBoer, soprano, and Jesse Langen, guitar (The Hasco Duo; members of Ensemble Dal Niente)

Kyong Mee Choi: Freed (excerpt)
Shanna Gutierrez, bass flute and electronics

Amos Gillespie: Jasper Johns, I
The Amos Gillespie Quartet

Amy Wurtz: Confessions for solo piano
  II. Lullaby
  VII. Abbreviations
Amy Wurtz, piano

William Jason Raynovich: Duet for Solo Violoncello
Herine Coetzee Koschak, vc. (Fifth House Ensemble)

Zhou Long: Five Maskers
Gaudete Brass Ensemble

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s