#114 Crossing Barriers

A big trend in the 2000’s saw contemporary music ensembles commissioning composers not to write new pieces for them but to arrange music by pop artists.

We’ll listen to music from two such collaborations: Alarm Will Sound performing arrangements of electronic musician Aphex Twin and Osso Quartet’s arrangements of indie pop superstar Sufjan Stevens.

Hosted by Seth Boustead
Produced by Jesse McQuarters

Sufjan Stevens: Year of the Snake (excerpt)

Sufjan Stevens (arr. Olivier Manchon): Year of the Snake
Osso String Quartet

King Crimson (arr. Ziporyn): Epitaph
Maya Beiser, vc.
Innova 900

Philip Glass, Symphony No. 1, Low Symphony, I (excerpt)
Brooklyn Philharmonic/Davies
Point Music 438150

Beck (arr. Kahane): Mutilation Rag 2:08

Kraftwerk: Pocket Calculator (excerpt)

Kraftwerk: Pocket Calculator
Balanescu String Quartet

Sigur Rós (arr. Prutsman): Flugufrelsarinn
Kronos Quartet
Nonesuch 307452

Queen/Tolga Kashif: The Queen Symphony, III (Who Wants to Live Forever, Save Me)
Royal Philharmonic/Tolga Kashif
EMI 57395

Aphex Twin: Logon Rock Witch (excerpt)
Aphex Twin

Aphex Twin (arr. Jonathan Newman): Logon Rock Witch
Alarm Will Sound
Cantaloupe 21028

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s